Thursday, 26 April 2018

SCIENCE FICTION REVIEW: Everything About You - Heather Child

RELEASE DATE:  26/04/18

PUBLISHER:  Orbit
EXTRACT

SYNOPSIS:

A missing girl. Dangerous new technology. Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Gone Girl, discover this year's most cutting-edge thriller - before it discovers you.
Think twice before you share your life online.

Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister's.
It adopts her sister's personality, recreating her through a life lived online. But this virtual version of her sister knows things it shouldn't be possible to know. It's almost as if the missing girl is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that's impossible. Isn't it?

With twists and turns you'll never see coming, Everything About You is a thrilling debut showing a chilling vision of a future that's just around the corner. You'll never look at your privacy settings in the same way again . . .
The world of Everything About You is closer than you think:
* Right now, the average child features in over 1,500 online photographs by the age of five
* By 2025, you will interact with connected devices nearly 5,000 times per day
* Today there are already companies who will collect your data so that your relatives can interact with your 'digital doppelganger' after you die.


REVIEW:
This is a book that is not only quite freaky in its premise but does get the reader to ask themselves a lot of questions about what exactly is out there about themselves.  Its well written, has a great arc and above all else is a story that is built around a realistic feeling character that you not only want to associate with but get to know.



Its a definitely a title of today's modern media world and with us each using it more and more each day, giving trust easily as well as information, its a theme that I feel is going to become more popular disguising the ease of use alongside convenience against your own identity and freedom.

The author really works the premise alongside the questions well into the overall arc and with a good use of pace alongside dialogue makes this a book that will stay with me for quite some time.  Cracking.

No comments:

Post a comment