Sunday, 8 April 2018

URBAN FANTASY REVIEW: The Voices 2: Hunted - GX Todd

RELEASE DATE:  31/03/18

PUBLISHER:  Headline

SYNOPSIS:
Hunted by G X Todd is the second novel in the Voices series, highlighted as being 'of a piece with Stephen King's The Stand' in the Independent. The battle between Good and Evil continues to play out in a world where the Voice in your head can save or slaughter you. A must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill.

'Compelling, suspenseful and altogether extraordinary' Lee Child

The birds are flying. The birds are flocking. The birds sense the red skies are coming.

One man is driven by an inner voice that isn't his - this Other is chewing at his sanity like a jackal with a bone and has one purpose.

To find the voice hiding in the girl.

She has no one to defend her now.

But in an inn by the sea, a boy with no tongue and no voice gathers his warriors. Albus must find the girl, Lacey . . . before the Other does.

And finish the work his sister Ruby began.

Hunted is the second book in the acclaimed Voices series, where the battle between Good and Evil holds you in its vice-like grip.

#HearTheVoices


REVIEW:
As with the first book in the series this story is hard hitting, fast paced and gives the reader a whole set of questions to ask not only of  the book but of themselves.

The characters are gripping, fresh and above all else relatable and when blended with a cracking story arc really helps to deliver something that will stay with you after the final page is turned.  All in, in my opinion this series could become a modern classic so get on board before the hype hits. 

Add to the mix, great use of dialogue alongside a solid understanding of pace and how to utilise it within the pages, all round make this a cracking offering.  I can't wait to see what happens next.

No comments:

Post a comment